The Department of Telecommunications was established in 2000 on the recommendation of the Accreditation Commission for program accreditation of the specialty "Telecommunication Systems" / TS /. The department is the successor of the functional unit of Communication Equipment and Technologies at the Department of Electronics and Communications, responsible for the training of the specialty TS from 1992 to 2000.